English 112 Hot Topics

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
English 112 Hot Topics

This forum is designed to analytically discuss the issues/events affecting us in today's society.

+2
Ashley Wendling
aleciasmith
6 posters

To Tan or not to Tan

aleciasmith

To Tan or not to Tan Empty To Tan or not to Tan

Post  aleciasmith Sun Mar 29, 2009 2:48 pm

Cancer Concerns Have States Mulling Teen Tan Bans

We all love that gorgeous summer glow but do we really want to risk our future on it? Obviously we are all aware that tanning is bad and can cause cancer but the problem lies largely in how young people are starting to tan. This article addresses the idea that states should ban the use of tanning salons for minors. The proposal is that minors will need a note written by their parents or a doctor in order to use a tanning salon. I think that this is a good idea. I used to be a cheerleading coach for my All Star gym and I know of girls who will start tanning at 10 and 11 years old so that they look good in their uniform. Some of the mothers would insist that their daughters went tanning at the salon so that they would look good in the pictures that would be put up on our website. I think this is disgraceful and so dangerous. The girls are so young their skin is still growing and tanning can be so harmful to the health of their skin. I think that it would be great for states to pass legislation banning those under 16 from going tanning. I like to be tan as much as anyone else but I do know the dangers and try not to go as much as possible, but younger adolescents may not know the danger and so there should be rules to keep them safe just like anything else.
    Ashley Wendling

To Tan or not to Tan Empty Re: To Tan or not to Tan

Post  Ashley Wendling Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:45 am